Sending Wyoming eviction notices are required for tenants who have broken their lease terms, either to non-payment or any of the conditions, and the landlord asks the tenant to cure or face the courts. The process requires property owners to follow a three-part process: serving notice, filing a complaint, and going to court.
Wyoming Eviction Process
Property owners must notify tenants before filing an eviction action. Most notices must be served to tenants three days before the landlord can file. Landlords can either serve the notice (non-payment of rent) personally or post it to the tenant’s door. During the three days, the tenant can avoid any further legal action by paying the rent due or correcting the violation. See State laws about a forcible entry and detainer.
2. Filing the Complaint
The next step is to go to court and file a Forcible Entry and Detainer Action at the circuit court if the tenant has not paid rent or left the property. The court will give the property owner copies of the complaint and summons, which then must be served to the tenant. The courts prefer notice to be served personally, but if several attempts fail, the complaint and summons may be posted on the door. The summons will indicate when and where the eviction hearing will occur, which will be 3 to 12 days after the court issues the complaint and summons.
The tenant should file a formal Answer to the complaint if he or she wishes to fight the eviction. If the tenant fails to do so, the judge might not let the tenant present his or her case at the hearing.
Each party should bring any information relevant to their case, including copies of the lease and notices, receipts of payment, building inspection records, and witnesses. Tenants can argue that the landlord did not properly serve notice, or that he or she paid all the rent that was due, among other defenses.
If the landlord wins, the court will grant an order of possession to the landlord, and may require the tenant to pay the landlord’s court costs. Then the landlord can obtain a Writ of Restitution, which will allow the sheriff to physically remove the tenant from the property and lock the tenant out. The tenant will have between 1 and 30 days to leave the premises, and can request a certain amount of time to help find another residence or for other reasons.