Alaska lease agreements allow for an owner, management company, or agent to let someone occupy space in exchange for rent. Typically the tenant will need to apply so that he or she may be screened to ensure that they qualify to be able to pay every month. All the agreements abide by the Alaska Landlord and Tenant Act.
Rental Application – Use to verify that a potential lessee for a residence is in fact who and what they say they are by verifying his or her credit and employment information.
Standard – Create a relationship between a tenant and landlord for the renting of property in exchange for monthly payments. The most common time period is one (1) year but may be any time-frame as negotiated by the parties.
Month to Month – Creates an arrangement between a property owner and lessee where there is no end date to the arrangement as long as each party keeps up their part of the agreement. Either party may terminate with at least 30 days notice.
Sublease – Makes a relationship between a person (“Original Tenant”) that is in a lease agreement and a person (“New Tenant”) that would like to rent the same property. The original tenant and new tenant may make any type of agreement they want as long as the term is not longer than the original lease agreement. The original tenant, whether he or she is paid or not by the sublessee, is responsible for paying the landlord every month as agreed upon in the master agreement.
If the landlord consents to subletting, he or she has fourteen (14) days to approve the tenant. The reason(s) for rejection cannot be unreasonably withheld and if the landlord does not answer within the time period the tenant is permitted to sublet to the sublessee.
Common Landlord Tenant Laws
- Security Deposits
- A landlord may not accept more than two (2) months of rent for the Security Deposit from the tenant unless the rental is more than $2,000 per month.
- All deposits must be made in a trust account, if the account earns interest, it all must be to the benefit of the tenant.
- The landlord must return the deposit to the tenant at the end or at lease termination within fourteen (14) days.
- If the landlord needs to have access to the property for repairs or other use, there needs to be at least twenty-four (24) hours notice given to the tenant
- It is advised that the landlord and tenant complete a checklist upon move in and move out to help view what damage existed and new repairs that must be made. All costs associated with repairs must be stated when returning the Security Deposit back to the tenant.
- Notices to Landlord
- Notices to Tenant