Download North Carolina lease agreements that are legal forms which allow a Landlord and Tenant to come to terms in a real estate contract. The Tenant is allowed to occupy the property in exchange for monthly rental payments. A landlord will usually ask to view credit information through the use of a rental application. If either party has questions about their right they may refer to the landlord-tenant booklet.
- Rental Application – Allows a person to apply for a residential unit in the hope of being approved for a lease agreement. The receiver of the the application (landlord, property manager, or any other representative) has the permission to verify all references disclosed and complete a background and credit check. Typically the processing time is around 72 hours and there may be a fee assessed.
- Standard Lease – Lets a landlord and tenant to be able to come to an agreement over the occupation of a residential unit for usually a one (1) year term. It is recommended to check any new tenant’s background, verify their employment, and any references through a rental application.
- Realtor Version – Real estate lease contract developed by the North Carolina board of Realtors that permits a person to occupy residential property for a fixed period of time while making payments on a monthly basis. Typically this version is for twelve (12) months and becomes valid after it has been signed by both lessor and lessee.
- Month to Month – A rental arrangement that has no end date. Every month the contract renews for another thirty (30) days by payment to the landlord. It is advised that in the agreement is stated that if either party wants to change or cancel the agreement that notice is required of at least one (1) month because State law only requires seven (7) days.
- Sublease – Lets the original tenant (with the written permission from the landlord) to rent a portion or all of the space he or she is occupying to someone else (“sub lessee”) for a negotiated price. All new sub lessee’s are not liable for payment to the landlord and any evictions must be carried out by the original tenant. Therefore it is advised that any sublessee be verified through a rental application.
- Commercial – For the use of a business purpose such as retail, office, or industrial. The tenant may be an individual or entity, if the tenant is a company the landlord should ensure that it is in good standing with the Secretary of State via the business search tool.
Common Landlord-Tenant Laws
- Security Deposit
- Month to Month – One and a Half (1.5) Months’ rent
- Standard (More than 2 Months) – Two Months’ rent
- Returning – Must be given back to the tenant within thirty (30) days
- Access – The is no State law that says the landlord has to give notice before entering the property
- When is Rent Due – There is a five (5) day grace period from the date agreed upon when rent is due. Therefor a landlord may not charge a late fee. Late fee cannot be more than $15 or 5% of the monthly amount (whichever is greater).